The Trustee

The Trustee looks after your interests as a member of the ​British Transport Police Federation Superannuation Fund.

It is the trustee for four railway industry pension schemes. Two of these schemes - the RPS and the BTPFSF - are open to new members.

The Trustee has overall responsibility for:

  • Administration of Scheme benefits
  • Collection of pension contributions
  • Payment of pensions
  • Investments, and
  • Safe custody of assets.

​The Board of 16 Trustee Directors helps maintain high standards of governance for the schemes. Eight Trustee Directors are nominated by employers and eight by members. Roughly a third of the directors retire by rotation every two years, and their term of office is six years.

The experience and skills of Trustee Directors are the cornerstones of the Board. For example, directors attended up to 18 Board and Committee meetings in 2017, in addition to various workshops, strategy events, and training seminars. Find out more about the Trustee Directors’ work in the latest Report & Accounts.

The current employer directors are:

Chris Hannon (Chair)
Nominated by: Freight train operating companies and support services
Term of office: ​2022

Meliha Duymaz
Nominated by: Network Rail
Term of office: 2020
Mark Engelbretson
Nominated by: Network Rail
Term of office: ​2024

John Hamilton
Nominated by: Passenger train operating companies
Term of office: 2020

Richard Jones
Nominated by: All employers
Term of office: 2022

Christine Kernoghan
Nominated by: ​Passenger train operating companies
Term of office: 20​22

John Wilson
Nominated by: Freight train operating companies and support services 
Term of office: 2020

The current employee directors are:

Tony Cotgreave
Nominated by: British Transport Pensioners' Federation 
Term of office: 2020

Gerry Doherty
Nominated by: Transport Salaried Staffs' Association (TSSA)
Term of office: ​2024

Dave Gott
Nominated by: National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers (RMT) and British Railways Superannuation Fund (BRSF) Management Committee
Term of office: 2​024

Charles Harding
Nominated by: Confederation of Shipbuilding and Engineering Unions (CSEU)
Term of office: 2020

Mick ​Lynch
Nominated by: National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers (RMT)
Term of office: 2022

John Mayfield
Nominated by: Retired Railway Officers' Society
Term of office: 2020

Gary Towse

Nominated by: British Railways Superannuation Fund (BRSF) Management Committee and British Transport Police Federation
Term of office: 20​22

Dave Tyson
Nominated by: Associated Society of Locomotive Engineers & Firemen (ASLEF)
Term of office: 20​22